ScreenMate vs Dubble
For freelancers, small agencies and virtual assistants deciding between a simple browser recorder and Dubble. Facts checked on 2026-10-16; Dubble may have changed since.
Independent comparison
Who this comparison is for
Someone creating screenshot guides for clients or colleagues who wants to know whether a smaller, cheaper, browser-only tool is enough, or whether Dubble’s broader feature set is worth paying for.
Where ScreenMate fits
Dubble’s free plan is genuinely generous; if a watermark and no branding are fine, it may be all you need. ScreenMate is for the moment you want your own logo and colour on a guide, folders per client, and a predictable monthly price — and it keeps the review-before-upload step on your device.
Our limitation, stated plainly: ScreenMate records only web pages in desktop Chrome. No desktop apps, no mobile capture, no video.
Where Dubble is stronger
- Free plan with unlimited guides and PDF download (watermarked) — more generous than ScreenMate’s free tier.
- Screen and audio video recording, and picking a better frame from the video, on Pro.
- Mac desktop recording (beta) on Pro.
- Magic Copy into Notion, Confluence, Google Docs and Trainual.
Pricing and seats
Dubble prices shown are per workspace; so are ScreenMate’s. Annual prices are shown as the yearly total with the per-month equivalent in brackets, for both products.
| Plan | Monthly billing | Annual billing | Unit | Seat minimum |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ScreenMate Free | Free | — | per workspace | 1 creator |
| ScreenMate Solo | $7/month | $70/year ($5.83/month) | per workspace | 1 creator |
| ScreenMate Team | $15/month | $150/year ($12.50/month) | per workspace | 3 creators included |
| Dubble Free | Free | — | per workspace | 1 |
| Dubble Pro | Not shown | $216/year ($18/month) | per workspace | not stated |
| Dubble Enterprise | Custom / not shown | — | unknown | not stated |
Things we could not confirm about Dubble
- Pro monthly-billing price not displayed; only the annual-billed $18/month figure
- Billing period of the $6 extra-creator add-on not stated
- SAML SSO: listed under Enterprise but also marked 'coming soon'
- API access vs 'Integrations coming soon' row alignment unclear
- AI features: not stated on pricing page or homepage
- Custom branding, folders, step limits: not stated on pricing page
- Free plan creator count ambiguous ('Unlimited Creators' row shows a dash)
Feature comparison
| Area | ScreenMate (implemented today) | Dubble (from official pages) |
|---|---|---|
| Capture | Chrome extension, web pages only | Chrome browser extension (primary); Mac desktop recording in beta on Pro. Produces step-by-step guides with screenshots and, on Pro, screen-recorded video with audio. GIF output not stated on pricing page. |
| Free plan | 3 stored guides · 25 steps · PDF with ScreenMate footer · unlisted links · 100 MB | Unlimited guides, unlimited sharing and exports, PDF download · Screenshot annotation and redaction, pre-recording blur · Magic Copy into Notion / Confluence / Google Docs / Trainual · Watermark on output · No video/screen recording, no desktop recording, no collaborators, no API |
| Paid entry price | $7/month (Solo) or $70/year — per workspace, 1 creator | Pro: $18/month billed yearly ($216/year) — per workspace, 3 creators included, +$6/month per extra creator. Monthly-billing price not shown |
| Team price | $15/month or $150/year — per workspace, 3 creators | The same Pro plan covers 3 creators (about $6 per creator); Enterprise with unlimited creators is contact-sales only |
| Branding | Logo + brand colour, attribution removed (Solo, Team) | Watermark removal — Pro. Custom logo or colour branding not stated on pricing page |
| Exports | PDF; Markdown + images (Solo, Team) | PDF download and unlimited exports on Free (watermarked); Magic Copy pastes into Notion, Confluence, Google Docs and Trainual |
| Redaction | Manual, permanent (pixels rewritten) | Screenshot annotation and redaction, plus blur before recording — Free and Pro |
| Sharing | Private / unlisted (revocable) / public with separate indexing consent | Direct share links and private viewer invites on every plan |
| Folders & templates | Solo, Team | Not stated on pricing page |
| Video / GIF | Not available (roadmap) | Screen recording with audio, and picking steps from the video — Pro. GIF not stated |
| Desktop app | Not available | Mac desktop recording (beta) — Pro |
| SSO / SCIM | Not available | Google SSO on every plan. SAML SSO is listed under Enterprise but marked 'coming soon'; SCIM not stated |
| AI | Limited monthly rewrite/translate actions, never automatic | Not stated on pricing page or homepage |
“Not stated on pricing page” means exactly that — it may still exist. Capture scope for Dubble: Chrome browser extension (primary); Mac desktop recording in beta on Pro. Produces step-by-step guides with screenshots and, on Pro, screen-recorded video with audio. GIF output not stated on pricing page.
A real example of ScreenMate’s output
This is a complete guide recorded with ScreenMate on our fictional practice shop: How to update the homepage headline (7 steps, with annotations and a brand colour). Open it on your phone to see the responsive reader.
Sources
Last checked: 2026-10-16. If you spot an error, tell us and we’ll fix it.