ScreenMate vs Guidde
For freelancers, small agencies and virtual assistants deciding between a simple browser recorder and Guidde. Facts checked on 2026-10-16; Guidde may have changed since.
Independent comparison
Who this comparison is for
Someone creating screenshot guides for clients or colleagues who wants to know whether a smaller, cheaper, browser-only tool is enough, or whether Guidde’s broader feature set is worth paying for.
Where ScreenMate fits
Guidde is a video product. If your clients want a narrated video, pick Guidde. If they want a document they can print, search and follow step by step, ScreenMate makes that kind of screenshot guide and PDF, and costs less per month.
Our limitation, stated plainly: ScreenMate records only web pages in desktop Chrome. No desktop apps, no mobile capture, no video.
Where Guidde is stronger
- Video-first output with AI voiceover, captions and MP4/GIF/PPT downloads — ScreenMate makes no video.
- Desktop and mobile capture on Business.
- Auto-translation across many languages.
- Analytics and brand kits aimed at larger teams.
Pricing and seats
Guidde prices are per seat; ScreenMate prices are per workspace. Annual prices are shown as the yearly total with the per-month equivalent in brackets, for both products.
| Plan | Monthly billing | Annual billing | Unit | Seat minimum |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ScreenMate Free | Free | — | per workspace | 1 creator |
| ScreenMate Solo | $7/month | $70/year ($5.83/month) | per workspace | 1 creator |
| ScreenMate Team | $15/month | $150/year ($12.50/month) | per workspace | 3 creators included |
| Guidde Free | Free | — | per seat | 1 |
| Guidde Pro | $29/month | $228/year ($19/month) | per seat | 1 |
| Guidde Business | $59/month | $468/year ($39/month) | per seat | 1 |
| Guidde Enterprise | Custom / not shown | — | unknown | not stated |
Things we could not confirm about Guidde
- Which price is monthly vs annual is not labelled on the cards; inferred from the 'Save 34%' toggle and corroborated by a third-party article (Trainn, 2026-08-20)
- Free plan limit stated as both 25 and unlimited on the same page
- Enterprise feature list appears twice with different contents
- Comparison-table column alignment unreadable in text (voice counts 200+/400+, analytics retention 30/180 days, 60-minute translation allowance not mapped to plans)
- Business 'up to 5 creators' cap appears on only one of the two Business cards
- Currency not named; assumed USD
- Site serves /pricing-v1 and /pricing-v2 variants, suggesting an A/B test; /pricing-v2 showed the same figures
- Step-by-step document export (as opposed to video) not explicitly described on pricing page
Feature comparison
| Area | ScreenMate (implemented today) | Guidde (from official pages) |
|---|---|---|
| Capture | Chrome extension, web pages only | Browser extension on Free and Pro; desktop app and mobile app on Business and Enterprise. Primary output is narrated video (MP4, GIF, PPT downloads) with step-by-step text; can convert a video into a knowledge-base article and a PDF into a guidde. |
| Free plan | 3 stored guides · 25 steps · PDF with ScreenMate footer · unlisted links · 100 MB | Up to 25 guiddes · Web capture, own voiceover, link sharing, 1 brand kit · Watermark · No desktop capture · MP4 export needs a paid plan |
| Paid entry price | $7/month (Solo) or $70/year — per workspace, 1 creator | Pro: $29/month, or $19/month billed yearly ($228/year) — per seat (monthly vs annual labelling inferred; see above) |
| Team price | $15/month or $150/year — per workspace, 3 creators | Business: $59/month, or $39/month billed yearly — per creator, up to 5 creators |
| Branding | Logo + brand colour, attribution removed (Solo, Team) | 1 brand kit on Free; watermark removal — Pro; 5 brand kits — Business |
| Exports | PDF; Markdown + images (Solo, Team) | Video (MP4), PPT and PDF — Pro and up; MP4 export needs a paid plan. GIF download is mentioned on the homepage |
| Redaction | Manual, permanent (pixels rewritten) | Blur sensitive information — Pro. Automatic PII redaction — Enterprise |
| Sharing | Private / unlisted (revocable) / public with separate indexing consent | Share by link on every plan; viewer seats are free |
| Folders & templates | Solo, Team | Not stated on pricing page |
| Video / GIF | Not available (roadmap) | Video-first: narrated how-to videos on every plan (watermarked on Free); MP4, GIF and PPT downloads on paid plans |
| Desktop app | Not available | Desktop app and mobile app capture — Business and Enterprise |
| SSO / SCIM | Not available | SSO (Okta, Microsoft and one more provider) — Enterprise. SCIM not stated |
| AI | Limited monthly rewrite/translate actions, never automatic | AI voiceover (unlimited text-to-voice on Business) and AI script generation; multi-language translation — Enterprise |
“Not stated on pricing page” means exactly that — it may still exist. Capture scope for Guidde: Browser extension on Free and Pro; desktop app and mobile app on Business and Enterprise. Primary output is narrated video (MP4, GIF, PPT downloads) with step-by-step text; can convert a video into a knowledge-base article and a PDF into a guidde.
A real example of ScreenMate’s output
This is a complete guide recorded with ScreenMate on our fictional practice shop: How to update the homepage headline (7 steps, with annotations and a brand colour). Open it on your phone to see the responsive reader.
Sources
Last checked: 2026-10-16. If you spot an error, tell us and we’ll fix it.