ScreenMate
Menu
Scribe alternative

ScreenMate vs Scribe

For freelancers, small agencies and virtual assistants deciding between a simple browser recorder and Scribe. Facts checked on 2026-10-16; Scribe may have changed since.

Independent comparison

ScreenMate is not affiliated with Scribe. Competitor facts come from the official pages linked at the bottom and were last checked on 2026-10-16. Where a feature isn’t mentioned on their pricing page we say “not stated” rather than assuming it’s missing.

Who this comparison is for

Someone creating screenshot guides for clients or colleagues who wants to know whether a smaller, cheaper, browser-only tool is enough, or whether Scribe’s broader feature set is worth paying for.

Where ScreenMate fits

If you are a freelancer or a two-person agency who mostly needs branded, screenshot-based guides for clients and can live without desktop capture, ScreenMate’s Solo plan costs a fraction of Scribe Pro Personal and includes logo, colour, PDF/Markdown export and client folders.

Our limitation, stated plainly: ScreenMate records only web pages in desktop Chrome. No desktop apps, no mobile capture, no video.

Where Scribe is stronger

  • Desktop (Windows/Mac) and mobile capture on paid plans — ScreenMate is browser-only.
  • Word and HTML exports in addition to PDF and Markdown.
  • Enterprise governance: SSO, SCIM, enforced automatic redaction, analytics.
  • Integrations (Confluence, Slack bot, API) and a template library, per its homepage and pricing matrix.

Pricing and seats

Scribe prices are per seat; ScreenMate prices are per workspace. Annual prices are shown as the yearly total with the per-month equivalent in brackets, for both products.

PlanMonthly billingAnnual billingUnitSeat minimum
ScreenMate FreeFree—per workspace1 creator
ScreenMate Solo$7/month$70/year ($5.83/month)per workspace1 creator
ScreenMate Team$15/month$150/year ($12.50/month)per workspace3 creators included
Scribe BasicFree—per seat1
Scribe Pro Personal$35/month$300/year ($25/month)per seat1
Scribe Pro Team$29/month$276/year ($23/month)per seat5
Scribe EnterpriseCustom / not shown—unknownnot stated

Things we could not confirm about Scribe

  • Pro Team price appears twice with different figures ($29/$23 vs $17/$13 per seat per month); page gives no explanation
  • Basic plan guide cap: not stated in text; matrix icon unreadable
  • Tier mapping of Autocapture, 'share as video', version history (1 week vs unlimited) and insights rows could not be read from text
  • 'Great value for teams of 3+' badge appears on every card including Basic and Enterprise
  • Edu/nonprofit discount amounts not stated
  • Direct curl to scribe.com was blocked by the proxy (403); all reads were via WebFetch summaries

Feature comparison

AreaScreenMate (implemented today)Scribe (from official pages)
CaptureChrome extension, web pages onlyBrowser extension (Chrome, Edge) on all plans; desktop app (Windows and Mac) and mobile capture on Pro and Enterprise. Feature matrix lists 'share as video' but its tier mapping is unclear; GIF output not stated on pricing page.
Free plan3 stored guides · 25 steps · PDF with ScreenMate footer · unlisted links · 100 MBBrowser capture (Chrome/Edge extension) of web apps · Basic editing · Link and embed sharing · No desktop capture · No custom branding · No PDF/HTML/Markdown export · No screenshot redaction · Guide count limit not clearly stated on pricing page
Paid entry price$7/month (Solo) or $70/year — per workspace, 1 creatorPro Personal: $35/month, or $300/year ($25/month equivalent) — per seat
Team price$15/month or $150/year — per workspace, 3 creatorsPro Team: $29/month, or $23/month billed yearly — per seat, minimum 5 seats (the page also shows $17/$13; see the unconfirmed items above)
BrandingLogo + brand colour, attribution removed (Solo, Team)Company branding on guides — Pro Personal and up; not on Basic
ExportsPDF; Markdown + images (Solo, Team)PDF, HTML and Markdown — Pro Personal and up; not on Basic. Word export is mentioned on the homepage
RedactionManual, permanent (pixels rewritten)Edit and redact screenshots — Pro Personal and up. Automatic PII/PHI redaction — Enterprise
SharingPrivate / unlisted (revocable) / public with separate indexing consentShare by link and embed on every plan, including Basic
Folders & templatesSolo, TeamNot stated on pricing page (the homepage mentions a template library)
Video / GIFNot available (roadmap)A 'share as video' row exists in the feature matrix, but which tiers include it could not be read. GIF not stated
Desktop appNot availableWindows and Mac desktop capture, plus mobile capture — Pro Personal and up
SSO / SCIMNot availableSAML SSO and SCIM provisioning — Enterprise
AILimited monthly rewrite/translate actions, never automaticAI auto-capture is advertised on every plan card (inclusion on Basic not confirmed); language translations — Enterprise

“Not stated on pricing page” means exactly that — it may still exist. Capture scope for Scribe: Browser extension (Chrome, Edge) on all plans; desktop app (Windows and Mac) and mobile capture on Pro and Enterprise. Feature matrix lists 'share as video' but its tier mapping is unclear; GIF output not stated on pricing page.

A real example of ScreenMate’s output

This is a complete guide recorded with ScreenMate on our fictional practice shop: How to update the homepage headline (7 steps, with annotations and a brand colour). Open it on your phone to see the responsive reader.

Sources

Last checked: 2026-10-16. If you spot an error, tell us and we’ll fix it.