ScreenMate vs Tango
For freelancers, small agencies and virtual assistants deciding between a simple browser recorder and Tango. Facts checked on 2026-10-16; Tango may have changed since.
Independent comparison
Who this comparison is for
Someone creating screenshot guides for clients or colleagues who wants to know whether a smaller, cheaper, browser-only tool is enough, or whether Tango’s broader feature set is worth paying for.
Where ScreenMate fits
Tango’s free workspace is attractive for small internal teams. ScreenMate suits a solo creator who wants their own branding and PDF/Markdown export without a per-seat subscription, and who documents for clients rather than colleagues.
Our limitation, stated plainly: ScreenMate records only web pages in desktop Chrome. No desktop apps, no mobile capture, no video.
Where Tango is stronger
- Free plan allows up to 10 users in one workspace.
- Desktop app for Mac and Windows on Pro.
- In-app guidance overlays (Guide Me, Pins) and automations on Enterprise.
- $15 per user per month billed annually at 3+ seats — among the lowest per-seat prices we checked.
Pricing and seats
Tango prices are per seat; ScreenMate prices are per workspace. Annual prices are shown as the yearly total with the per-month equivalent in brackets, for both products.
| Plan | Monthly billing | Annual billing | Unit | Seat minimum |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ScreenMate Free | Free | — | per workspace | 1 creator |
| ScreenMate Solo | $7/month | $70/year ($5.83/month) | per workspace | 1 creator |
| ScreenMate Team | $15/month | $150/year ($12.50/month) | per workspace | 3 creators included |
| Tango Free | Free | — | per workspace | 1 |
| Tango Pro (1-2 users) | $30/month | $264/year ($22/month) | per seat | 1 |
| Tango Pro (Team, 3+ users) | $20/month | $180/year ($15/month) | per seat | 3 |
| Tango Enterprise | Custom / not shown | — | unknown | not stated |
Things we could not confirm about Tango
- Currency not named on the page; assumed USD
- Pro price labels: annual ($22/$15) vs monthly ($30/$20) inferred from layout; FAQ confirms only the Team tier figures
- FAQ wording '3 or more teams' appears to be a typo for 'users'
- Meta description mentions a free trial but no trial terms are described on the page
- GIF output and native video export not stated on pricing page
- Chrome/Edge support not named on pricing page (only 'browser extension')
Feature comparison
| Area | ScreenMate (implemented today) | Tango (from official pages) |
|---|---|---|
| Capture | Chrome extension, web pages only | Browser extension (browser not named on pricing page) on all plans; desktop app for Mac and Windows on Pro and Enterprise (per help center). Guides can embed voice/video on Pro; native video or GIF export is not stated on pricing page. |
| Free plan | 3 stored guides · 25 steps · PDF with ScreenMate footer · unlisted links · 100 MB | Browser capture · Link and embed sharing · Up to 10 users per workspace · 5 shared workflows · No PDF/HTML/Markdown export, branding, folders, blur, desktop capture, AI content or version history |
| Paid entry price | $7/month (Solo) or $70/year — per workspace, 1 creator | Pro (1–2 users): $30/month, or $264/year ($22/month equivalent) — per seat |
| Team price | $15/month or $150/year — per workspace, 3 creators | Pro (3+ users): $20/month, or $15/month billed yearly — per seat, minimum 3 seats |
| Branding | Logo + brand colour, attribution removed (Solo, Team) | Custom workspace branding and branded exports — Pro; not on Free |
| Exports | PDF; Markdown + images (Solo, Team) | PDF, Markdown and HTML — Pro; not on Free |
| Redaction | Manual, permanent (pixels rewritten) | Blur of sensitive data — Pro. Automatic PII detection and secure blur — Enterprise |
| Sharing | Private / unlisted (revocable) / public with separate indexing consent | Link and embed sharing on every plan; Free is limited to 5 shared workflows |
| Folders & templates | Solo, Team | Shared private folders — Pro; subfolders — Enterprise. Templates not stated on pricing page |
| Video / GIF | Not available (roadmap) | Voice and video embeds inside guides — Pro. Native video or GIF export not stated |
| Desktop app | Not available | Mac and Windows desktop capture — Pro and Enterprise (per Tango's help centre) |
| SSO / SCIM | Not available | SSO and SCIM — Enterprise |
| AI | Limited monthly rewrite/translate actions, never automatic | AI-generated content — Pro; workflow translation into 15 languages — Enterprise |
“Not stated on pricing page” means exactly that — it may still exist. Capture scope for Tango: Browser extension (browser not named on pricing page) on all plans; desktop app for Mac and Windows on Pro and Enterprise (per help center). Guides can embed voice/video on Pro; native video or GIF export is not stated on pricing page.
A real example of ScreenMate’s output
This is a complete guide recorded with ScreenMate on our fictional practice shop: How to update the homepage headline (7 steps, with annotations and a brand colour). Open it on your phone to see the responsive reader.
Sources
- https://www.tango.ai/pricing
- https://www.tango.ai/
- https://help.tango.ai/en/articles/5971708-can-i-capture-desktop-workflows
Last checked: 2026-10-16. If you spot an error, tell us and we’ll fix it.